BEC Announces 2022 Scholarship Winners

Ten area students were recently selected as recipients of the Bandera Electric Cooperative Scholarship, an award of $2,500 for the 2022-2023 school year.
The scholarship is offered to full-time students who plan to attend or who are currently enrolled at an accredited four-year university, junior college or Texas Education Agency-approved technical trade school that offers an associate degree.
The 10 recipients are:
  • Logan Burley – Center Point High School
  • Allison Clark – Boerne High School
  • Payton Deichler – Utopia High School
  • Cooper Dorries – Homeschool
  • Cherish Dunlap – Utopia High School
  • Hannah Edwards – Bandera High School
  • Kylee Henderson – Bandera High School
  • Reese Mazurek – Bandera High School
  • Madeline McFarland – Homeschool
  • Emily Zirkel – Medina High School
The New Braunfels Area Community Foundation selected the winners through an anonymous process based on a written essay, financial necessity and participation in community and school activities.
The scholarship program was established by BEC in 1998 to encourage and assist in the educational pursuits of its members and their immediate families. Since then, BEC has awarded more than a quarter million dollars in scholarships. As a cooperative, BEC is guided by the seven cooperative principles, which include Education, Training and Information.

Posted Tuesday, April 19, 2022