Board and Management

Our Cooperative is different from other types of corporations. We follow the Cooperative Model. This model is rooted in the values of self-help, self-reliance, and democratic control.

Member-owners of the Cooperative elect directors or trustees from the membership to serve on the cooperative board. These democratically-elected directors govern and direct the affairs of the cooperative, guide how the co-op's money and assets are used to fulfill the cooperative's mission, and represent their members’ interests and concerns as they develop policies that guide the cooperative’s operations and strategic direction.

To help ensure that the board is made up of directors from all parts of BEC’s service territory, nine districts have been established through which directors are nominated and/or elected to the board.

Meet the Board of Directors


BEC Board of Directors

Select a director name or photo to learn more.
Robert Aguirre

Robert Aguirre
District 1 Director

Fran Laue

Frances "Fran" Laue
District 2 Director

Jeff Slocum

Jeffery "Jeff" Slocum
District 3 Director


Jeremy Diller

Jeremy Diller
District 4 Director
Board Vice Chairman

Annegreth Niemann

Annegreth "Anna" Niemann
District 5 Director



Dick Earnest

Richard "Dick" Earnest
District 6 Director


Christopher Blakemore

Christopher "Chris" Blakemore
District 7 Director

Michael D.T. Edwards
District 8 Director
Board Chairman

Kurt Solis

Kurt Solis
District 9 Director
Board Secretary/Treasurer

BEC Executive Management

Bill Hetherington

Bill Hetherington
Chief Executive Officer

Lynn Midgette
Chief Financial Officer


John Padalino

John Padalino
Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel

Shane Schmidt

Shane Schmidt
Chief Operations Officer


BEC Districts

District 1 - Pipe Creek, Medina Lake (partial)
District 2 - Bandera Area (partial)
District 3 - Bandera Area (partial), South Tarpley, Center Point (partial)
District 4 - Boerne East, Walnut Grove, Cordillera
District 5 - Medina, Vanderpool, Utopia, North Tarpley, Turtle Creek
District 6 - Hunt, Leakey, Concan
District 7 - Lakehills, Medina Lake (partial), Mico
District 8 - Boerne (west of IH10), Ranger Creek, Tapatio Springs
District 9 - Comfort, Center Point (partial)

The following navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.