Scholarship Winners Announced


Ten area students were recently selected as recipients of the Bandera Electric Cooperative Scholarship, an award of $2,500 for the 2021-2022 school year.
The scholarship is offered to full-time students who plan to attend or who are currently enrolled at an accredited four-year university, junior college or Texas Education Agency-approved technical trade school that offers an associate degree.
The 10 recipients are:
Christian McKnelly—Bandera High School
Gunnar Winkler—Bandera High School
Ryan Zimmel—Bandera High School
Anna Wyle—Boerne High School
Gage Lott—Comfort High School
Harper McCracken—Comfort High School
Denton Zuercher—Devine High School
Kaila Morgan—Medina High School
Ashlyn Turner—Medina High School
Zachary Luzius—Tivy High School
The New Braunfels Area Community Foundation selected the winners through an anonymous process based on a written essay, financial necessity and participation in community and school activities.
The scholarship program was established by BEC in 1998 to encourage and assist in educational pursuits of its members and their immediate families. Since then, BEC has awarded more than a quarter million dollars in scholarships. As a cooperative, BEC is guided by the seven cooperative principles, which include Education, Training and Information.
Posted Wednesday, March 31, 2021